Rapid Fire Book Tag

Hello and welcome back to another Friday Feature Book Tag.

As usual, I haven’t actually been tagged in this but I love doing book tags! If you want to take part, I tag you! Let’s get started…

Image result for reading gif

E-BOOKS OR PHYSICAL BOOKS?

Defineitly physical books for me. There’s just something about holding an actual book that gets me in a reading mood.

PAPERBACK OR HARDBACK?

Paperback. I find them less bulky and easier to read (and obviously way cheaper!).

ONLINE OR IN-STORE BOOK SHOPPING?

I love in-store shopping but I usually buy my books online because I can’t be bothered to go into town on a busy weekend haha! So a bit of both for this one.

TRILOGIES OR SERIES?

I think this one depends on the story. Sometimes it feels like its dragging on a bit with series but others you need that detail like with Harry Potter and Gallagher Girls. I’d probably go with trilogies though because I have a really short attention span!

HEROES OR VILLAINS?

For obvious reasons I’d say heroes but I do love a villain from time to time. Especially those ones you love when you know you really shouldn’t.

Image result for villains gif

A BOOK YOU WANT EVERYONE TO READ?

Lies Like Love. I’ve been raving about this book since I read it in October because it is the best mental illness novel I have come across. (You can find my review for it here.)

RECOMMEND AN UNDERRATED BOOK.

Again I’d go with Lies Like Love but another underrated book I adore is Drowning Instinct. It’s a very controversial read but I was gripped the whole way through.

THE LAST BOOK YOU FINISHED?

As I’m writing this, its The Madness. I’ve been reading it for two weeks which is unheard of for me but I really struggled to get into it. (Update: I just finished reading Perfect by Cecelia Ahern, keep an eye out for my review coming this Sunday)

WEIRDEST THING YOU USED AS A BOOKMARK?

My phone I guess? Sometimes if I need to pop to the toilet or want to get a cup of tea I stick my phone in there. For the most part though I just use regular bookmarks

USED BOOKS, YES OR NO?

Yes! I love going to charity shops for books. There’s something about a used book that just shows its been loved and enjoyed.

TOP THREE FAVOURITE GENRES?

Contemporary, Romance and Fantasy

Image result for fictional worlds gif

BORROW OR BUY?

Buy. I quite often buy books I’ve borrowed from the library afterwards because I just like having the book for myself so I can read it whenever I want to.

CHARACTERS OR PLOT?

This is a difficult one. I’d probably say characters because you have to engage with the protagonist to fully enjoy the book.

LONG OR SHORT BOOK?

I’m going to be awkward and say inbetween. I find long books quite strainous but I don’t like a book to be too short because I like to learn as much about the charatcers as possible, esepcially if I am really enjoying the book.

LONG OR SHORT CHAPTERS?

Short. I like being able to stop whenever I want otherwise I feel I get bored even if I am enjoying the chapter because I just want to stop for a minute and have a break.

NAME THE FIRST THREE BOOKS YOU THINK OF.

The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen, All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven and Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon.

BOOKS THAT MAKE YOU LAUGH OR CRY?

Cry! I’m quite a tough person so I don’t really cry at things in the outside world but give me an emotional film or book and I’m a mess. If I cry at a book it shows I loved it and really connected to the characters.

Image result for crying  at film gif

OUR WORLD OR FICTIONAL WORLDS?

My favourite setting for a book is beach towns like in Sarah Dessen books so I’d say our world. Although I always think how clever authors are for having the imagination to come up with these fictional worlds. I could never do it.

AUDIOBOOKS: YES OR NO?

I’ve never tried audiobooks but I feel like I wouldn’t like them just because they won’t have my full attention span and I won’t engage with the book. Maybe I’ll try it with a novel I’ve read before…

DO YOU EVER JUDGE A BOOK BY ITS COVER?

Anybody who says they don’t is lying haha! A cover is what first attracts me to a book and I then go on to read the blurb to see if I’ll like the book.

BOOK TO MOVIE OR BOOK TO TV ADAPTATION?

I’ve never really seen a good film or TV adapation of books but I’d probably just say film because I prefer films to TV series in general. Although I am really excited to see the Netflex Series of Thirteen Reasons Why

SERIES OR STANDALONE?

Standalone. Although some stories need more than one book I don’t have the attention span to stay focused on one set of characters for so long and the waiting for the next book in a series to come out is agony!

 

What do you think? Did you agree/disagree with any of my answers? Let me know in the comments and happy reading!

8 thoughts on “Rapid Fire Book Tag

  1. I agree with lots of your answers! But especially about the one on short chapters. I also stop reading frequently and hate to stop reading in the middle of a chapter. I also feel like whenever I’m reading a book with short chapters I read more because I’m like ‘oh the next chapter is only a few pages I’ll read that too, instead of beinh like “oh the next chapter is 50 pages… maybe tomorrow” πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aha I totally love a villain from time to time as well. Sometimes their stories can be even more interesting than the one of the hero! Fantasy and contemporary are my favourite genres as well. I’ve tried an audiobook before, but I didn’t love it… I know it works for a lot of people, but it just didn’t for me, unfortunately. Also haha cover judging is totally a thing!! I shamelessly do it all the time… πŸ˜‚ Oops?? But how do you not?? Great answers!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Right? Ooh that’s a hard one. I love Jennifer Niven’s books, as well as More Happy Than Not & History is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera, Jandy Nelson’s two books, Nicola Yoon… there are actually so many I loved, I couldn’t name them all (or just one!) πŸ˜‚ Yours?

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment