TTT: Authors To Read If You Love Sarah Dessen

Hello everybody and welcome back to another Top 10 Tuesday. Top 10 Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, follow the link if you want to take part.

The Broke and the Bookish are taking a break until 15th August so until then I am going to be coming up with me own topics. This week I am bringing you 10 authors to read if you are a fan of Sarah Dessen. It is a well known fact on It’s A Reader’s Life how much I love Sarah Dessen so I thought I’d introduce you to some other authors who have similar books to her.

1. Jennifer Niven

Image result for jennifer niven

Jennifer Niven is a pretty well known author right now. Her books All The Bright Places and Holding Up The Universe were both best sellers. Niven explores mental health in her novels as well as looking some more unknown disorders that affect teenagers today.

2. Colleen Hoover

Image result for colleen hoover

I’ve only read one novel by Colleen Hoover, It Ends With Us, but I was completely obsessed with it and have since purchased a few more of her books. I can’t wait to give them a read. Colleen Hoover is all about the romance, which is perfect for me.

3. Jennifer E. Smith

Image result for jennifer e smith

I’d say Jennifer E. Smith and Sarah Dessen are pretty similar authors. They both write about teens, their books are mostly set in summer and they both love a bit of romance. Particular favourites of mine are This Is What Happy Looks Like and The Geography of You and Me.

4. E. Lockhart

Image result for e lockhart

We Were Liars was the YA novel of the summer last year and for good reason. E. Lockhart writes about friendship as well as relationship and for someone who thinks there needs to be more girls supporting each other in books, I love it.

5. Jandy Nelson

Image result for jandy nelson

I love both Nelson’s books I’ll Give You The Sun and The Sky Is Everywhere. Jandy delves deeper into the lives of teenagers looking at LGBTQ, grief and families. Her books are very complicated, but then so are the lives of teenagers.

6. Rainbow Rowell

Image result for rainbow rowell

I’m pretty sure everybody has heard of Rainbow Rowell. She is a very popular author with books such as Carry On, Fangirl and my absolute favourite novel, Eleanor and Park. I love Rainbow Rowell because she writes about such relatable characters and she really makes you catch those feels.

7. John Green

Image result for john green

If you don’t know who John Green is, where the hell have you been? John Green is one of the most famous YA authors around with his books The Fault In Our Stars and Paper Towns both being turned into movies. If you want a sweet romance, check him out.

8. Abby McDonald

Image result for abby mcdonald author

Abby McDonald’s book Boys, Bears and a Serious Pair of Hiking Boots is my go-to summer novel and she has also written a few other books that I thoroughly enjoyed. Her novels have the perfect blend of romance and friendship.

9. Ally Carter

Image result for ally carter author

The Gallagher Girls is my favourite series. Its a little different from the romance novels on here, but Ally Carter’s books are full of action and adventure. If you are looking for a bit more fun, Ally Carter is your girl.

10. David Levithan

Image result for david levithan

David Levithan is the king of LGBTQ novels. Together him and Rachel Cohn write brilliant books for the gay community. I am always trying to read more LGBTQ books so David Levithan will be top of my list.

 

There we have it. These are all my authors to read if you love Sarah Dessen, and they all also happen to be some of my favourite authors. Who are your go to authors?

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “TTT: Authors To Read If You Love Sarah Dessen

  1. I have read multiple books, if not all the books, by every author on this list. THIS is a stupendous list. I love CoHo, but she is a little more angsty than the others. (Hopeless is one of my fave CoHo books. So good)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s