Book Inspired Recipe: The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe

Hello everybody and welcome back to another Bookish Friday, how are you all doing? It has been a while since I last did a book inspired recipe so this week I’m bringing you a recipe inspired by The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe.

Image result for the lion the witch and the wardrobe

I used to love The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe when I was younger. The film adaption came out when I was around seven or eight and I watched it all the time. I eventually got round to reading a few of the books in the series, although I never finished it. Of course one of the most important aspects of the novel is Turkish Delight so today I’m going to give you a Turkish Delight recipe.

I found this recipe on the food.com website which you can find here. All of the ingredients are in cups and I know that in the UK we tend to use grams or ounces but maths isn’t my strong point and I couldn’t work out the conversions (sorry guys). Let me know in the comments if you gave this recipe a try. Happy baking!

Ingredients

  • 2 cups Granulated Sugar
  • 1 cup Cold Water
  • 1.5 (1/3 ounce) Envelopes Unflavored Gelatin
  • 1 Orange (juice)
  • 1 Lemon (juice)
  • Red Food Coloring
  • 1cup Chopped Nutmeats
  • Powdered Sugar

Method 

  1. Soak gelatin in one-half cupful of the cold water for ten minutes
  2. Place sugar and remaining cold water in a saucepan and bring to the boiling point, add soaked gelatin and the juices of the orange and lemon.
  3. Boil to 240°F on a candy thermometer
  4. Add nutmeats and red food coloring until desired color is achieved.
  5. Remove from heat and beat until creamy.
  6. Turn into a bread pan that is lightly greased and placed in cold water to the depth of one inch.
  7. Let stand until firm, turn out onto board, and cut into cubes. Roll in powdered sugar.
Photo by J L Poucher
7 thoughts on “Book Inspired Recipe: The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe

    1. I actually cannot stand Turkish Delight haha! But The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe brings back so many childhood memories for me

      Like

Leave a Reply

