e-ARC: One Of Us Is Lying

*I received an e-ARC copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review*

Title: One Of Us Is Lying
Author:  Karen McManus
Publisher: Penguin Random House UK Children’s
Genre: YA/Mystery
Release Date: 1 June 2017

‘Everybody’s got  secrets.’

Synopsis (Netgalley)

Five students go to detention. Only four leave alive.

On Thursday afternoon, five students at Bayview High walk into detention. Bronwyn, the brain, is Yale-bound and never breaks a rule. Addy, the beauty, is the picture-perfect homecoming princess. Nate, the bad boy, is already on probation for dealing. Cooper, the jock, is the all-star baseball pitcher. And Simon, the outcast, is the creator of Bayview High’s notorious gossip app. Only, Simon never makes it out of that classroom. Before the end of detention, Simon’s dead. And according to investi­gators, his death wasn’t an accident.

On Thursday, he died. But on Friday, he’d planned to post juicy reveals about all four of his high-profile classmates, which makes all four of them suspects in his murder. Or are they just the perfect patsies for a killer who’s still on the loose? Everyone has secrets, right? What really matters is how far you would go to protect them.

* * *

You’ve probably heard a lot about this book by now and there is a damn good reason for that. This book was described as a cross between Pretty Little Liars and The Breakfast Club and I knew I had to get my hands on this book, The Breakfast Club is my all time favourite film. There is no doubt that One Of Us Is Lying is slightly different from the genre I usually go for but there is certainly no turning back now.

‘I’m barely hanging on to the edges of who I used to be.’

Simon, Bronwyn, Nate. Addy and Cooper all find themselves in detention one Thursday night after being caught by their science teacher with phones that didn’t belong to them. Before they know it, Simon is dead and their lives are changed forever. At first it appears to be an accident but before long the four are at the centre of a murder investigation after it is revealed Simon was planning on spilling a secret of each individual on his blog. Each is a suspect and each has a secret, but who went that far to keep it and who really set them all up?

Guys, this book is freaking insane. The last time I fangirled over a book was when I read The Hate U Give back in February but I think One Of Us Is Lying took my fangirling to a whole new level. I loved everything about this it. The story was enticing, the characters were completely relatable and likable and the author was always one step ahead of us. Not once that I see any of the twists and turns coming, and trust me there is a hell of a lot. The ending completely shocked me (although I still haven’t decided whether I was happy with it) and I was kept guessing until the very end.

‘I finally let myself smile, and now that I’ve started, I can’t stop.’

We’ll start of with Nate, my favourite character of the four. Nate is your typical bad boy, the criminal who can pick up a whole lot of girls. He is everybody’s guilty pleasure. Except Nate is hiding some secrets too. His father is an alcoholic and its Nate’s job to provide money for rent and food. But Simon’s secret could ruin him forever. I am a sucker for a bad boy so I instantly loved Nate but his more sensitive side took me by surprise and made me love him even more. Also, his comical timing was perfect and I was living for his sarcastic comments. McManus got it perfect with this character.

Moving on to Bronwyn. As much as Nate is bad, Bronwyn is good. She’s the school nerd on her way to Yale University. What dirt could Simon possibly have on her? Like Nate, Bronwyn had also had it pretty bad. Her sister had cancer when she was younger and although she survived, she’d missed a lot of school. Bronwyn therefore made it her mission to continue the Yale family tradition for the both of them. These sisters were super close. They spend late nights in each other’s rooms gossiping and watching movies together and it reminded me a lot of me and my sister. I also think Bronwyn’s sister became a suspect too because she was hiding some secrets and I certainly thought she was the culprit from time to time. Although Bronwyn comes across as being too confident at times, I did like her and she also has an unexpected relationship with another character which I shipped the entire way through this book.

‘This girl. For a few seconds I breathe her in and everything’s all right.’

Cooper is the jock. He is on his way to stardom with his father pushing him to be better everyday. Out of all the characters, I liked Cooper the least. There was something about him that gave me a bad feeling. He was too quick and too desperate to defend himself and didn’t care too much about the other three involved. That was until I learnt what he was hiding and my opinion of him changed. I had the utmost respect for Cooper after learning his secret and I instantly felt sympathetic towards him. Also, his grandma was awesome!

Described as the princess, it seems Addy has it all; the looks, the boyfriend and the popularity to go with it. However, it quickly becomes apparent Addy’s life isn’t all its cracked up to be. Addy has nothing to do with her father and her relationship with her mother and sister is far from perfect. Furthermore, it is pretty clear that Addy is controlled by her boyfriend, Jake. He tells her what to wear, who they’re hanging out with and where they’re going. Addy is a shadow behind Jake and goes along with everything he says regardless because he is her whole world. Out of all of the characters, Addy is the one that transforms the most. You wouldn’t believe it was the same character by the end of the novel. I really liked Addy. I thought she was a very sincere character and I loved the change in her.

‘For the first time in a long time, I feel free.’

As you can probably tell, I am obsessed with this book. I loved everything about from the plot to the surprises. I think the characterisation really made this story because I did not want to believe that any of them was the culprit. McManus got this book spot on and I cannot wait to see what she brings out next.

                    image002   image002   image002   image002   image002

6 thoughts on “e-ARC: One Of Us Is Lying

Leave a Reply

